Article Index

Summary and evaluation of Ruling

The following will be a summary of the Ruling. We suggest that the applicant, or anyone assisting the applicant, thoroughly review the Ruling itself at   

The Ruling is divided into six major sections:
I. What is CFS?
II. How does a person establish an MDI of CFS?
III. How do we document CFS?
IV. How do we evaluate a person’s statements about his or her symptoms and functional limitations?
V. How do we find a person disabled on an MDI of CFS?
VI.  How do we consider CFS in the sequential evaluation process?